Book Review

Review: The Life-Changing Magic of Not Giving a F**k by Sarah Knight

copy-of-book-review

Disclaimer: There will be language used in this review!!

Book: The Life-Changing Magic of Not Giving a F**k
Author: Sarah Knight
Year: 2015
Publisher: Quercus Editions Ltd.

This is the first ‘Self-Help’ book I’ve read this year. For those of you who don’t usually read ‘Self-Help’ books (or Self-Improvement books as I prefer to call them) then this is an interesting one to start off with! Sarah Knight delivers a Laugh-Out-Loud book full of entertaining anecdotes and wise advice! To sum it up, this book is meant to help you to stop having to do things that you don’t want to do, with people you may not particularly want to be around, which would ultimately result in you wasting time, energy, and sometimes, money.

Sarah’s theories on life are quite interesting and have made me stop and think about how I often give too many fucks about other people; whether that’s keeping other people happy, doing things just because other people want me to do them, or worrying about what other people think of me and my actions. I’ve started to really ask myself if I really care about some of the things that I’ve been doing, maybe saying hi to someone that doesn’t ever say hi back etc…! I’ve spent so long and wasted so much of my time trying to be liked by everyone when, in reality, I don’t give a fuck about what half of them think!

img_7579

Sarah talks you through making a Fuck Inventory, where you list all of the things that you do and don’t give a fuck about when it comes to things, work, people, and family. You mentally declutter by figuring out who and what are worth giving fucks about, and who and what are not worth it. Sarah believes that we all spend too much time caring about the opinions of others instead of living our lives in a way that will make us feel happy and content.

The reality is, unless we’ve been given a ballpark figure by a reputable physician (and sometimes not even then), not a single one of us knows when we’re going to shuffle off this mortal coil. It’s morbid, but it’s true. Tomorrow you could get hit by a bus, or mauled by a pack of wolves, or be scared to death by a clown.
When you think about it like that, don’t you want to make every second count?

Nobody on this earth is going to live forever. You’re not going to be remembered for all of the extra hours you put in at the office, or the parties you attended that you actually didn’t want to attend. You need to take the time you have and spend it wisely on the things you like, and want to do, with the people you genuinely care about. Otherwise you’re really just wasting your time on this planet.

I definitely would recommend this book to anyone who feels like they need to get their priorities straight. It will give you the motivation to get your shit together and only give your fucks to the things that you feel deserve it.

I have been recommending this book left, right, and centre to people who I think would enjoy it. Many people have gotten a kick out of the title of the book and a few people have gone out and bought it for themselves. Today though, I was told by someone that they felt that the word fuck was overused altogether, which is true in one sense but I believe the title of the book kind of gives us all a heads up on that one.

As Self-Improvement books go, I do feel that this was entertaining and to the point. There was nothing spiritual about it; no connecting with God or your Higher Power, nothing involving soul-searching of any kind. It was a no BS approach to living a life you enjoy. Simple As!

img_0396

I found this on Facebook and had to include it in the review!!

I did find that I grew tired of reading the book around the half-way point but I think that it is because I’ve got so many books on the go (something I’m not very used to doing!) But it is definitely one worth picking up.

I’d give this book a 4/5 star rating, simply because I did lose interest slightly at the midpoint but other than that it was a great, uplifting, inspiring, laugh a minute read!

1-star1-star1-star1-star

Is this a book you’ve read? Perhaps one you’re going to add to your TBR pile for the year ahead? Do let me know in the comments below!

Happy Reading!

Cx

2 thoughts on “Review: The Life-Changing Magic of Not Giving a F**k by Sarah Knight”

Leave a Reply

