General musings

On Giving Up 

Do you “give up” on books??

I was never the kind of person that could leave a book unfinished but I feel, as I get older, why waste my time on something that brings me no joy?! 

Source

I’ve given up on The Man In The High Castle! It was incredibly boring! I decided to read the book because my Boyfriend started watching the TV show and said it was incredible. Naturally, as an avid reader, I assumed that the book would be better. Unfortunately for me I was very wrong. It was not to my taste at all. Different narratives were taking place within the same chapters and I was incredibly bored… not a happy happy! However, when I reached the 50% mark I made the decision to close the e-book and leave it closed. I couldn’t force myself to read a book that was not bringing me any satisfaction . 

What is your stance on  Giving Up? I’d love to hear what you have to say below!

Cx 

3 thoughts on “On Giving Up ”

  1. I’ve given up on a few books in my life, mostly ones I was supposed to be reading for college but just wasn’t into. But the only one I’ve ever given up on that I was reading for myself was Love in the Time of Cholera. I got maybe a third to half way through and just couldn’t take it anymore. It was getting to the point where I was just reading it because I felt like I had to finish it, it was a chore more than anything else. It’s rare that I feel that way about a book, but I definitely agree that it’s not worth your time to finish something if you’re not enjoying it. There are too many great books out there to waste time reading bad ones.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love this! You’re so right! There’s no point torturing ourselves! A friend of mine once hid a book from me because I forcing myself to finish it and hated it! I haven’t looked back since!

      Like

Leave a Reply

