Book Review

Book Review: The Silent Sister by Diane Chamberlain

Book Review (3)

Riley McPherson is a 26 year old woman who has lived her life under the shadow of her sister’s suicide. Riley, who was only two when her sister died, cannot remember her fully and when she is given charge of clearing out her father’s house after his death, she finds a box of newspaper articles that show her a completely different side to Lisa.  Riley starts to uncover a family secret that shatters her life to pieces and leaves her wondering if she even knows who she is. Who was Lisa McPherson; was she really dead; and who could Riley really trust anymore?

This was my first time reading a Diane Chamberlain novel and I didn’t know what to expect. I was a bit sceptical at first because I have this thing about authors who write lots of books; I automatically assume that they’re not going to be great books (an awful assumption of me, I know!) However, I was proved wrong. Yes, parts of the book were very predictable, and I did at times feel as though it was all a bit too ‘obvious’, but I really enjoyed the journey that this book took me on. I honestly believed that I had the whole thing sussed after the first two chapters. I thought I knew who the enemies were, who Riley needed to put her trust in, and what had really happened to Lisa.

However, at 1am this morning I found out that a lot of what I had hypothesized was false! Even though I do consider this book to be an ‘easy read’ I really enjoyed it. The characters felt real to me and I even got goosebumps on a few occasions! I did not see the plot twist coming at all – something that I’m usually quite good at foretelling – so that was something that really impressed me! I found it impossible to not care about Riley and her family, and I felt compelled to pick up the book and find out what was going to unfold next.

The book made me consider the concept of family and what we will do for one another. It made me think about how much I love my family and consider just how far I would go for them. Overall I found this book to be a very enjoyable read and am very grateful for the recommendation!

1-star1-star1-star1-star
4/5 stars!

Have you read many of Diane Chamberlain’s novels? If so, what one do you recommend I read next? I’d love to get some advice!

Cx

 

Leave a Reply

